javascript hit counter

Dingle added to Lou Henson Awards watch list

PHILADELPHIA – The 2022-23 Lou Henson Award watchlist was announced by late Tuesday, and the list of 50 players includes the University of Pennsylvania junior guard Jordan Dingle. The Lou Henson Award is presented annually by to the nation’s top mid-major in Division I college basketball. publication

Dingle is one of only two Ivy Leaguers on the list of 50, alongside Princeton’s Tosan Evbuoman. In addition to the Ivy League, players from teams from the following conferences are eligible for the award: America East, Atlantic Sun, Big Sky, Big South, Big West, Colonial, Horizon, Metro Atlantic, Mid-American, Mid-Eastern, Missouri Valley, Northeast, Ohio Valley, Patriot, Southern, Southland, Southwestern, Summit, Sun Belt, West Coast and Independents.

Dingle currently leads Penn this season by averaging 20.2 points per game and is the only Quakers player to have scored double digits in every game he has appeared in. In fact, Dingle has a double-digit, 14-game scoring streak that stretches back to last season. In just 56 career games with Penn, Dingle has 981 points and could be the fourth fastest player in program history to reach 1,000 points. Dingle also leads Penn with nine steals, has 12 assists and is at the foul line with a staggering 29 of 31 (93.5 percent) this season, including a recent streak of 19 straight free throws.

Dingle and his team-mates will play three times at The Palestra this weekend as part of the inaugural Cathedral Classic. The Quakers face Hartford on Friday, Colgate on Saturday and Delaware on Sunday. All three games are the second in a double header and are expected to kick off at 4:30 p.m

About the Lou Henson Prize
The award is presented annually to the top mid-major in Division I college basketball and honors the former Illinois and New Mexico state head coach who has won 775 games in 41 seasons. Henson is the most successful coach in Illinois basketball history with 423 wins. During his 21 seasons (1975-1996), Henson led the Fighting Illini to 16 postseason appearances, including 12 NCAA tournaments and a Final Four run in 1989. Henson, who is also the all-time winning coach in the New Mexico State History is one of only 11 coaches to have led two different schools to the NCAA Final Four. His teams made 19 NCAA and four NIT appearances.

The 2022-23 Lou Henson Award will be presented at the College Insider Awards event during the NCAA Men’s Division I Final Four in Houston, Texas.