javascript hit counter

State Board of Elections Certifies North Dakota November Election Results; 1 recount remains

North Dakota’s State Acquisition Board on Wednesday confirmed the results of November’s general election. The results have not changed, although a State House district recount will be held.

The five-member panel unanimously endorsed results from all 53 districts, including state, congressional, legislative and judicial races and two statewide ballot measures.

The Grand Forks area District 43 House Race will automatically recount Tuesday, meaning the board will meet again on December 1st. Democrats Zac Ista and Mary Adams are separated by three votes.

State legislatures will take office on December 1st. The organizational session of the legislature will take place from December 5th to 7th.

North Dakota voters elected a new Secretary of State, former Republican Rep. Michael Howe, who will succeed retiring incumbent Al Jaeger.

People also read…

Republicans won all of the statewide races and 83 of 98 parliamentary seats on the ballot.

The house races included four seats for new subdistricts, including those encompassing the Fort Berthold and Turtle Mountain Indian reservations. They were created due to redistribution after the 2020 census.

Top redistribution lawmakers said the subdistricts meet the population criteria of the federal Electoral Rights Act. Proponents said the subdistricts would give Native American communities a better chance of electing their own members to the legislature. But the subdistricts have launched two lawsuits over the new lines. The litigation will not be resolved soon.

North Dakota Legislature's new GOP Majority Leaders promote collaboration amid fluctuations as session nears

Mund stays with ND as she ponders the future;  GOP is interested in hearing from her

Forty-one of 141 lawmakers will be new, although new members include a handful who have previously served. Three out of four legislative leaders are also new. Many of the resignations are from high-profile members who have chosen to retire, been rejected for re-election, or lost a seat due to redistribution.

Republicans will control the Senate 43-4 and the House 82-12.

Independent congressional candidate Cara Mund had the best performance of any Republican challenger; She won almost 38% of the national vote.

Voters also approved term limits for the governor and state legislatures and opposed the legalization of recreational marijuana.

Eligible voter turnout was nearly 43%, the lowest in more than 40 years.

Nearly 44% of ballots nationwide were cast by absentee ballot, absentee ballot, or early voting in person.

State auditor Josh Gallion released results of a review of the state’s electoral system last month, concluding that “it is exceedingly unlikely that the results of a North Dakota election would be fraudulently influenced.”

Reach Jack Dura at 701-250-8225 or [email protected]